Cajeta Mexican caramel ice cream

It all started with a twitter discussion about who had the best donuts in Toronto. Frida restaurant joined in praising churros and cajeta icecream. I actually had never heard of it but was instantly intrigued and on learning it was a Mexican caramel sauce I was a little in love with the idea. I can not tell you how much I love caramel, especially homemade caramel.

Cajeta is a little different in that it is Goat’s milk and sugar simmered down to a rich caramel. The actual cajeta (which I have included the link to my pics for) process takes nearly two hours but I am telling you it is very worth taking the time to make. I used
Rick Bayless’ recipe and being a newbee who actually didn’t know what it was supposed to even taste like I followed that recipe to the letter and saved my signaturing of the dish to the ice cream stage.

The finished product was rich and velvety and heady with cinnamon. I let it cool and then refrigerated overnight. The next day I set about making my icecream.

Cajeta icecream

Cajeta ice cream

2 cups half and half
1 cup Goats milk (you could use regular whole milk here, I just had some left over from making the cajeta)
1 cup sugar
6 egg yolks
1 cup cajeta

In a medium bowl whisk the sugar and egg yolks together and set aside

In a medium saucepan heat the milk and cream until very hot but not boiling. Remove from heat.

Add a little at a time to the egg mixture, whisking constantly until throughly combined and frothy

Return entire mixture to saucepan and return to medium heat. Stir constantly until mixture thickens.

Remove from heat and cool overnight or for 8 hours in a glass bowl in the refrigerator.

Perpare icecream according to manufacturers instructions. Add the cajeta in the last 5 or 10 minutes of churning.

For the kitchen aid prepare freezer bowl and star on the stir speed before pouring ice cream batter in. Let churn for about 20 minutes. Add cajeta and churn another 5 minutes.

Kitchen aid makes softserve ice cream so transfer to freezer containers and freeze for 2-4 hours more.

To plate. Drizzle a little cajeta on the plate and scoop out icecream. You can garnish with whatever you like I chose a mexican cinnamon stick and coffee beans. I actually think the coffee flavour works so well with the cajeta that I may do a coffee icecream with cajeta next.

The cajeta recipe made about 3-4 cups so I plan on making some cajeta filled cupcakes with coffee buttercream next week….stay tuned.

About TheFashionistaFoodie.com

Passion meets the plate. Focusing on making cooking for one fun using fresh and local ingredients, notable local wines, with a splash of fashion. Get Fresh, Get Local, Get Fabulous!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

