Watermelon salad with mint and feta

Canada Day has always been a special day for me. An opportunity to reflect on my love for my country, the freedoms we have and those who serve our country to protect all of the liberties that we treasure. One of my favorite ways to celebrate is to get together with friends and family and share great food, recipes and enjoy the early summer weather. This year I was invited to a rooftop BBQ and when I asked what I could bring my host requested Watermelon. How can I express myself with watermelon I thought! Then I remembered several years ago a friend told me about a watermelon feta salad that she had tried and how good it was and I looked at the fresh mint and sprouts I had picked up at the market and started creating my own version. This salad was perfect, the flavours of the juicy sweet watermelon, refreshing mint, the saltiness of the feta and the earthy nutiness of the sprouts drizzled with sweet balsalmic syrup played off each other and the dish was well balanced. The color of the salad brought in a bit of the Canadian spirit and it complimented the beautiful sunshine of the day.

I hope you all had a Happy Canada Day!

Watermelon salad with mint and feta

Watermelon salad with feta and mint

1 small watermelon cut into bite size cubes
1 200 gram package of feta crumbled
2-3 TBSP of fresh mint chiffonade (I used a combination of spearmint and orange mint but you can use whatever you have on hand)
2 cups sunflower sprouts to top (You could use other sprouts or arugula also, the key is to get something that is earthy or peppery to play off the sweet of the watermelon and saltiness of the feta)
1 1/2 cup balsalmic vinegar reduced to a syrup

Cut watermelon in even slices
Remove rind from watermelon and cut into bite size cubes
Place mint leaves one on top of the other and roll, slice thinly to create a chiffonade
In large bowl add watermelon and mint, stir to combine
Add crumbled feta and lightly toss to combine
Sprinkle sprouts on top to garnish

In a small saucepan heat balsamic vinegar over a medium heat until it begins to bubble and then reduce to a simmer. To reduce the vinegar to a syrup it will take approxinately 15 minutes)

Just before serving drizzle the balsamic syrup over top of the salad

About TheFashionistaFoodie.com

Passion meets the plate. Focusing on making cooking for one fun using fresh and local ingredients, notable local wines, with a splash of fashion. Get Fresh, Get Local, Get Fabulous!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Watermelon salad with mint and feta

  1. Free recipes says:

    What a stunning salad! I find your blog to be such a joy to see and read. Thank you for sharing another fresh and healthy recipe!

Leave a Reply

